The title speaks for itself.  My wife can verify.

I love fitness and I love working out.  While running is my passion, doing weird workouts is kind of my thing.  The dumber the better.

Sometimes, it’s something fairly simple including burpees, push-ups, squats, etc.  Other times, though, it’s like I’ve lost my mind altogether, or I’ve decided to go full Mad Scientist.

I’ve wrangled some running friends into Friday fitness challenges.  They’re horrible.  Like, really horrible.  Some might call them sadistic.  The great thing about these is that they’re not terribly long.  Well, most aren’t.  Most are less than 10 minutes.  Anyone can carve out 10 minutes for a gut-busting workout.  I don’t care how busy you are, 10 minutes is findable.

The first week was easy: 5 minutes of wall-sit.  This could be 5 minutes straight through, or 5 minutes broken into chunks.  I’m in pretty decent shape, and there’s no effing way I can do 5 minutes straight.  My wife can, though, so we’re going to put that on her resume.  Anyway…if you break it into chunks, the clock keeps running.  So, it may take you 7:42 to complete the 5 minutes.  Either way, the goal with these is to get your muscles burning.

The second week was 5 minutes of burpees.  The ones with jumps at the end.  Body to the floor, up, jump, clap.  Horrible.  The clock stops at 5 minutes and however many you do is however many you do.

Last week is one of my favorites.  It’s one of the exceptions in that it’s not an under 10 minute body-killer.  This one lasts all day.  Well, sort of.  You set a goal – a challenging one – of how many push-ups you can do throughout the day.  From the time you awaken, until the time you fall into la-la-land.  I like 1,000.  It’s a nice, round number.  So, throughout the day, I’ll pump out 25 push-ups every 15-30 minutes, or so, until I hit 1,000.  People look at me like I’m an idiot, which I am, because I’ll do them almost anywhere.  My fellow challengers usually tell me I’m number one with their middle fingers.

This week was my least favorite: 7 minutes of jumping squats.  If you’ve never done something like this, your muscles burn after about 45 seconds and you want to chop off your legs and beat yourself to death with them.  No joke.  By 90 seconds, you start to think about how you let your life spiral out of control.  When you’re done, you wobble around and cry for a medic.  It’s not pleasant.  I’m still weak from them.

I’ll be honest – I have no idea if any of these challenges are good for the body, or not.  And, frankly, I don’t care.  They’re fun, and they get me out of my comfort zone.  Mostly, they get me yelled at by both friends, and my wife, because I wrangle them into doing them with me (virtually, of course).  And, if there’s one thing I’m really good at, it’s getting yelled at by my lovely wife.

Moral of the story: go do something dumb today.  Be an idiot.

Leave a Reply

