I’m a dad.  I’m a husband.  I’m an employee.

Just like virtually every other person on this planet, I have real world responsibilities.  While I enjoy running (and it arguably helps keep me sane), I either have to get creative to squeeze in a workout, or I have to skip it altogether.  To top it off, my wife enjoys running and other fitness-related activities and we have to make sure there’s a balance so that we can both work towards achieving our goals.

The past few weeks have been a perfect example of our ability to get creative.  We’ve been mired in our kids’ extracurricular activities and we had a major health scare for my wife’s grandmother.

Don’t get me wrong – our kids and the health of my wife’s grandmother is of far greater importance than me getting in a tempo run.  But life is about balance, and everyone deals with it.

I heard a quote recently, and I’m probably going to butcher it, but it was something along the lines of “Don’t look for motivation; build discipline.”  An acquaintance of ours within the local running community calls this finding time in the “in-betweens”.

I’m accustomed to running during weekdays at 4:30 pm.  Do I want to have to run at 5:15 am, or at 7:45 pm?  No.  Not at all.  Would I rather run outside than on the treadmill?  Duh.  Is it more enjoyable doing mile repeats on a track than in your garage?  That’s a no-brainer.  But when things of greater importance create roadblocks, you can either get creative, or you can get complacent.  You can either try to find motivation, or you can build discipline.

 

Leave a Reply

